Home » Developer & Programmer » Forms » Updating values in a details block
Updating values in a details block [message #142151] Thu, 13 October 2005 11:02 Go to next message
ducrot
Hi,

First, excuse my poor english.

I work with Forms 5.

I have a form with a master block and a details blocks.

In the details block, the values of some fields are obtained by calculation using the value of a field, say F, in the master block. All works fine.

But, I don't know how to update the calculated values of all the records of the details block when I modify the value of F in the master block. In the When-validate-item trigger associated to F, it's impossible to use a GO_BLOCK(details block) and it seems impossible to execute the on-populate-details trigger because that trigger calls GO_BLOCK.

Thank you by advance to people who can help me.

Ducrot
Re: Updating values in a details block [message #142190 is a reply to message #142151] Thu, 13 October 2005 13:11 Go to previous messageGo to next message
feroze
Hi

Your calculated fields in detail block is it non database item.
Use formula in detail block item properties either write a trigger on post_text_item of F field in master block to do a calculation or else in the properties of details field write the formula.

Yes GO_BLOCK is restricted in when_validate_item trigger.

Let us know how it works

Regards

Re: Updating values in a details block [message #142196 is a reply to message #142190] Thu, 13 October 2005 13:46 Go to previous messageGo to next message
ducrot
Hi feroze,

Thank you for your answer. Unfortunately, it doesn't work.

My calculated fields in details block are database items.

If I put a calculation in the when_validate_field (or post-text-item) of F field in the master block that affects a details block field, the result of the calculation appears only in the first record of the details field.

It's why I tried (without success) to use on-populate-details trigger.