Home » Developer & Programmer » Forms » Master Detail Problem
Master Detail Problem [message #136068] Mon, 05 September 2005 21:11 Go to next message
samit_gandhi

Dear Sir,

I have a master detail form. In detail form i have two records in it. Now i want to insert the another one record in the same detail block. It gives me error for unable to insert the record. How to solve the problem.

Another thing i have done is i have put one repeat column which will be incremented each time when other detail item has been inserted then it will inserting all three rows in the database. I need only one row which i have just added in the detail block.

How is it possible?? It is urgent pls help asap.

Samit Gandhi
Re: Master Detail Problem [message #136071 is a reply to message #136068] Mon, 05 September 2005 21:46 Go to previous messageGo to next message
djmartin
Account Moderator
You say
Quote:

I have a master detail form. In detail form i have two records in it. Now i want to insert the another one record in the same detail block. It gives me error for unable to insert the record. How to solve the problem.

Did you use the master-detail wizard to build and link your blocks? If not, then I suggest that you rebuild your form using the wizard. Bascially, the detail block is not getting its values populated properly by the master block.

You say
Quote:

Another thing i have done is i have put one repeat column which will be incremented each time when other detail item has been inserted then it will inserting all three rows in the database. I need only one row which i have just added in the detail block.

I expect that you are repopulating an already populated field. This is probably your 'sequence number' field. Always test that the field is 'null' before you populate it.

David

[Updated on: Tue, 06 September 2005 01:56]

Report message to a moderator