Home » Developer & Programmer » Forms » Calculator Example
Calculator Example [message #119708] Fri, 13 May 2005 20:25 Go to next message
al_xx
Hi,

I am a newbie to Oracle Forms and this forum.

I am having major trouble trying to implement a calculator in my form. The result of the calculator needs to appear in the form.

Is this possible?

Can someone please send me an example form with the calculator or point me in the right direction.

Thank you in advance.

Al
al_xx@adelphia.net
Re: Calculator Example [message #119716 is a reply to message #119708] Sat, 14 May 2005 01:32 Go to previous messageGo to next message
weekend79

Dear Al

With following code in a “push button” trigger you can open “windows calculator” in form.

------------------------------------------------
DECLARE
cmd VARCHAR2(32);
BEGIN
cmd := 'C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\calc';
HOST(cmd);
END;
--------------------------------------------------------------------------

Where “'C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\calc'” is the path & name of my windows calculator if you have different name change it and also increase/decrees length (32) accordingly.

For more info see the topic “How To Open Third Party Applications from form6i” (25-Apr-2005)

Then why to waste time & efforts on complex things when simple alternate available.

But for every body interest can some one tell us how form accepts parameters/values from third party software?

Wishes
Jawad

Re: Calculator Example [message #119739 is a reply to message #119716] Sat, 14 May 2005 08:32 Go to previous messageGo to next message
al_xx
Dear Jawad,

Thank you for your quick reply. This works as far as being able to display the calculator in the form. Thank you.

But, I am required to take the results of the calculator and pass back to the form. I don't know how to do this. I have been working on this problem for several months and do not know how to solve.

Is this even possible? Have I been wasting time on what can not be done?

Please help.

Thank you.

Al